Laboratory of Coherent and Adaptive Optics

headed by Prof. Vladimir P Lukin

Investigations

  • Development of the theory of adaptive optical systems for the optimal imaging and laser beaming through the atmosphere.
  • Development of the elemental basis for adaptive and coherent optics.

Main results

  • The theory of phase fluctuations of optical waves during the propagation in the refractive, turbulent, and scattering atmosphere has been developed.
  • As early as in 1981, we already conducted experiments with adaptive optical systems on the correction of refraction and atmospheric turbulence. In the course of instrumental studies of the atmospheric astroclimate, we have proved that it is important to take into account the finite outer scale of turbulence and its influence on characteristics of an image formed through the atmosphere. We have prepared technical proposal for the first Russian AST-10 adaptive telescope and studied peculiarities of the adaptive phase correction of an image in astronomic telescopes.
  • In 1978–1983, main principles of the adaptive telescope functioning against laser guide stars were written for the first time in the world, pioneering works on the study of dynamic characteristics of adaptive systems were performed, and two-color adaptive systems were put in practice. For these works, V. Lukin was awarded with the International Prize and Galileo Galilei Medal in 2000.
  • In cooperation with the Institute of Solar Terrestrial Physics, the Lab conducts successful research for the designing of adaptive systems for IR and solar telescopes. ANGARA adaptive image correction system has been developed and implemented in the Big Solar Vacuum Telescope. The system provides the telescope operation based on the tracking of the solar granulation pattern displacement. This improves the telescope efficiency 16–25 times.
  • Algorithms have been developed for the adaptive correction of thermal distortions appearing during the transport of high-power laser radiation in the atmosphere, the influence of spiral phase dislocations on the correction quality has been studied, the theory of turbulence has been developed for the anisotropic boundary layer, and investigations on the correction of laser beams and images formed in the atmosphere have been carried out. Meters of the turbulence level and wind velocity have been designed. They are applied in investigations of radiation propagation along atmospheric paths and in development of methods for the remote monitoring of the atmosphere. The meters are used in the Institute of Applied Physics RAS, Almaz-Antei Company, Astrofizika Scientific Production Association, Raduga Company, and Vizionika Company.
  • Scientific results of the Lab are internationally recognized. The Lab cooperates with the Institute of Astronomy (Sweden)and European Southern Observatory (Germany), had contracts with the Livermore National Laboratory(USA) and Nanjing Astronomical Instrument Research Center (China).
  • Basic principles of the operation of adaptive optical systems have been formulated. The theory of an electron-pumped waveguide laser has been developed and prototypes of this laser have been designed.
  • Gas electron-discharge systems are implemented in cooperation with Chinese scientists.
Wavefront sensor Meter of turbulence level and wind velocity

Personnel

  1. Leonid V Antoshkin, senior staff scientist, E-mail: lant@iao.ru
  2. Lidiya A Bol'basova, staff scientist, Dr, E-mail: sla@iao.ru
  3. Aleksandr G Borzilov, adv.engineer
  4. Nina N Botygina, senior staff scientist, E-mail: bnn@iao.ru
  5. Oleg N Emaleev, adv.engineer, E-mail: eon@iao.ru
  6. Fedor Yu Kanev, leader staff scientist, Dr., phone: +7 3822 491-372, E-mail: kanev@iao.ru
  7. Petr A Konyaev, senior staff scientist, Dr., phone: +7 3822 491-372, E-mail: peter@iao.ru
  8. Evgenii A Kopylov, staff scientist, PhD, E-mail: kea@iao.ru
  9. Alexey V. Kudryashov, leader staff scientist
  10. Vitalii V Lavrinov, junior staff scientist, E-mail: lvv@iao.ru
  11. Lidiya N Lavrinova, senior staff scientist, Dr., phone: +7 3822 491-372, E-mail: lnl@iao.ru
  12. Vladimir P Lukin, head of the Lab, Prof., phone: +7 3822 492-606, E-mail: lukin@iao.ru
  13. Nailya A Makenova, staff scientist, Dr., phone: +7 3822 491-372, E-mail: mna@iao.ru
  14. Evgenii V Nosov, staff scientist, Dr., E-mail: nev@iao.ru
  15. Viktor V Nosov, leader staff scientist, Dr., E-mail: nosov@iao.ru
  16. Anton A. Selin, engineer
  17. Viktor A Sennikov, staff scientist, E-mail: wsen@iao.ru
  18. Artyom Yu. Shikhovtsev, junior staff scientist
  19. Marina A Sivokon', programmer
  20. Egor L Soin, technician
  21. Andrei V Torgaev, staff scientist, Dr., E-mail: torgaev@iao.ru
  22. Aleksandr P Yankov, engineer, E-mail: apyan@iao.ru

Лаборатория когерентной и адаптивной оптики

Заведующий - д.ф.-м.н. Лукин Владимир Петрович

Область исследований

  • Развитие теории адаптивных оптических систем для обеспечения оптимального формирования оптического изображения и лазерных пучков через атмосферу.
  • Создание элементной базы адаптивной и когентной оптики.

Основные результаты исследований

  • Развита теория фазовых флуктуаций оптических волн при распространении в рефракционной, турбулентной и рассеивающей атмосфере.
  • Сотрудниками лаборатории уже в 1981 г. были выполнены эксперименты с адаптивными оптическими системами по коррекции рефракции и атмосферной турбулентности. В ходе исследований астроклимата атмосферы с использованием комплекса аппаратуры была доказана важность учета конечности внешнего масштаба турбулентности, а также его влияние на характеристики формируемого изображения через атмосферу. Коллективом лаборатории подготовлены технические предложения для проектирования первого отечественного адаптивного телескопа АСТ-10, исследованы особенности адаптивной фазовой коррекции изображения в астрономических телескопах.
  • В 1978–1983 гг. впервые в мире были выработаны основные принципы функционирования адаптивного телескопа с использованием лазерных опорных звезд, выполнены пионерные работы по исследованию динамических характеристик адаптивных систем, введены в практику двухцветные адаптивные системы. Эти работы были отмечены в 2000 г. присуждением В.П. Лукину международной премии и медали им. Галилео Галилея.
  • В кооперации с Институтом солнечно-земной физики СО РАН коллектив лаборатории успешно выполняет исследования по созданию адаптивных систем для ИК и солнечных телескопов. Создана и внедрена в практику адаптивная система «АНГАРА» для коррекции изображений в Большом солнечном вакуумном телескопе. Система обеспечивает работу телескопа на основе слежения за смещением солнечной грануляционной картины, что повышает эффективность телескопа в 16-25 раз.
  • Разработаны алгоритмы адаптивной коррекции тепловых искажений, возникающих при транспортировке мощного лазерного излучения в атмосфере, исследовано влияние винтовых дислокаций фазы на качество коррекции, развита теория турбулентности для анизотропного пограничного слоя, выполнены исследования по коррекции лазерных пучков и изображений, формируемых в атмосфере. Разработаны измерители уровня турбулентности и скорости ветра, применяющиеся при исследованиях процессов распространения излучения на атмосферных трассах, отработке методов дистанционного контроля состояния атмосферы. Измерители используются в Институте прикладной физики РАН, ГСКБ «Алмаз-Антей», НПО «Астрофизика», НИП «Радуга» и ООО «Визионика».
  • Научные результаты лаборатории получили международное признание, коллектив сотрудничает с Институтом астрономии (Швеция), с Европейской Южной обсерваторией (Германия), выполнял работы по контракту с Ливерморской национальной лабораторией США, Нанкинским центром астрономических приборов (Китай).
  • Сформулированы основные принципы работы адаптивных оптических систем. Разработана теория, и созданы действующие макеты волноводного лазера с электронной накачкой.
  • Внедрение систем электронного разряда в газах осуществляется совместно с учеными КНР.
Датчик волнового фронта Измеритель уровня турбулентности и скорости ветра

Сотрудники

  1. Антошкин Леонид Владимирович, снс, E-mail: lant@iao.ru
  2. Больбасова Лидия Адольфовна, нс, к.ф.-м.н., E-mail: sla@iao.ru
  3. Борзилов Александр Григорьевич, ведущий инженер
  4. Ботыгина Нина Николаевна, снс, E-mail: bnn@iao.ru
  5. Емалеев Олег Назарович, ведущий инженер, E-mail: eon@iao.ru
  6. Канев Федор Юрьевич, внс, к.ф.-м.н., тел: (3822) 491-372, E-mail: kanev@iao.ru
  7. Коняев Петр Алексеевич, снс, к.ф.-м.н., тел: (3822) 491-372, E-mail: peter@iao.ru
  8. Копылов Евгений Анатольевич, нс, к.ф.-м.н., E-mail: kea@iao.ru
  9. Кудряшов Алексей Валерьевич, внс
  10. Лавринов Виталий Валериевич, мнс, E-mail: lvv@iao.ru
  11. Лавринова Лидия Николаевна, снс, к.ф.-м.н., тел: (3822) 491-372, E-mail: lnl@iao.ru
  12. Лукин Владимир Петрович, зав.лаб, д.ф.-м.н., тел: (3822) 492-606, E-mail: lukin@iao.ru
  13. Макенова Наиля Алтынхановна, нс, к.ф.-м.н., тел: (3822) 491-372, E-mail: mna@iao.ru
  14. Носов Виктор Викторович, внс, к.ф.-м.н., E-mail: nosov@iao.ru
  15. Носов Евгений Викторович, нс, к.ф.-м.н., E-mail: nev@iao.ru
  16. Селин Антон Александрович, инженер
  17. Сенников Виктор Александрович, нс, E-mail: wsen@iao.ru
  18. Сивоконь Марина Александровна, программист 2 категории
  19. Соин Егор Леонидович, техник
  20. Торгаев Андрей Витальевич, нс, к.ф.-м.н., E-mail: torgaev@iao.ru
  21. Шиховцев Артем Юрьевич, мнс
  22. Янков Александр Петрович, инженер 2-й категории, E-mail: apyan@iao.ru