Laboratory of Nonlinear Optical Interactions

headed by Prof. Aleksandr A Zemlyanov

Investigations

  • Atmospheric femtosecond optics.
  • Propagation of intense laser beams along high-altitude extended paths.
  • Photoacoustic atmospheric investigations.
  • Optical properties in microresonators and frequency converters.
  • Nonstationary nonlinear optics.

Main Results

In historic aspect, the concept of studies in this field was proposed by V.E. Zuev in his book Propagation of Visible and IR Waves in the Atmosphere (Sov. Radio, Moscow, 1970). By now, the Lab has performed a large cycle of fundamental studies in optics of high-power laser radiation in the atmosphere.
  • Mechanisms of optical nonlinearity of aerodisperse media have been revealed and studied. Efficient calculation methods have been developed, and semiempirical models have been created, which provide the prediction of energy and direction losses of high-power laser beams at long atmospheric paths. Physical grounds for new methods of diagnostics of disperse media based on nonlinear optical interactions have been developed.
  • Remaining urgent for several decades, this field goes through the new stage of development due to the advent of high-power femtosecond laser systems. Their application in the atmosphere opens new promises in the use of optical technologies for the study of natural phenomena.
  • As a rule, nonlinear optical effects worsen the conditions of propagation of laser beam in the atmosphere and should be taken into account in the estimation of the efficiency of laser energy transfer to long distances. As the cw laser radiation propagates in air, the beam experiences thermal aberrations. However, in fogs, the transparency of the medium increases for IR radiation and long pulses due to the droplet evaporation.
  • As high-power picosecond and femtosecond laser pulses propagate in air, the phenomenon of filamentation is observed. This phenomenon is connected with the self-focusing of a laser beam into filaments, formation of plasma, and generation of broadband luminescence, the so-called supercontinuum. The propagation of longer laser pulses in the aerosol medium is accompanied by the optical breakdown of air near aerosol particles, which leads to the additional extinction of the radiation.
  • Many nonlinear optical effects have formed the basis for new methods of diagnostics of the atmosphere and water medium. The optical breakdown attracted the scientists’ attention as a source of the emission spectrum of the material components of suspended particles. Two-photon absorption in aerosols containing organic molecules induces their fluorescence, which serves as an indicator of these molecules. The use of the supercontinuum broadband radiation allows the diagnostics of gas and aerosol media by the method of multiwave sensing.
Photo of explosive boiling of a water droplet 50 µm in radius in the field of a microsecond СО2 laser pulse Transverse structure of energy density of the Ti:Sapphire laser radiation with a wavelength of 800 nm, pulse duration of 60 fs, and energy of 10 mJ at the end of an 80-m long atmospheric path at filamentation in air

Personnel

  1. Dmitrii V Apeksimov, senior staff scientist, Dr., phone: +7 3822 491-532, E-mail: apeximov@iao.ru
  2. Andrei D Bulygin, staff scientist, Dr., phone: +7 3822 491-532
  3. Yurii E Geints, main staff scientist, Prof., phone: +7 3822 491-532, E-mail: ygeints@iao.ru
  4. Andrei M Kabanov, main staff scientist, Dr., E-mail: kam@iao.ru
  5. Elena E Khoroshaeva, staff scientist, Dr., phone: +7 3822 491-532, E-mail: bee@iao.ru
  6. Dmitrii E Kotov, post-graduate student
  7. Olesya I. Kuchinskaya, engineer
  8. Vladimir P Lopasov, leader staff scientist, Prof., phone: +7 3822 491-716, E-mail: lopas@iao.ru
  9. Ol'ga V Minina, engineer
  10. Nikolai V Nedel'kin, engineer
  11. Ekaterina K Panina, senior staff scientist, Dr., phone: +7 3822 491-597, E-mail: pek@iao.ru
  12. Alexey V. Petrov, junior staff scientist
  13. Vitalii A Pogodaev, main staff scientist, Prof.
  14. Ekaterina B. Sokolova, staff scientist
  15. Anna V. Tarasenkova, staff scientist, PhD

Лаборатория нелинейно-оптических взаимодействий

Заведующий - д.ф.-м.н. Землянов Александр Анатольевич

Область исследований

  • Атмосферная фемтосекундная оптика.
  • Распространение интенсивных лазерных пучков на высотных протяженных трассах.
  • Оптоакустические исследования атмосферы.
  • Оптические процессы в микрорезонаторах и преобразователях частоты.
  • Нестационарная нелинейная оптика.

Основные результаты исследований

В историческом плане концепция работ в этой области была предложена в монографии В.Е. Зуева «Распространение видимых и инфракрасных волн в атмосфере» (М.: Сов. радио, 1970). К настоящему времени в лаборатории выполнен большой цикл фундаментальных исследований по оптике мощного лазерного излучения в атмосфере.
  • Установлены и изучены механизмы оптической нелинейности аэродисперсных сред. Разработаны эффективные методы расчетов, созданы полуэмпирические модели, обеспечивающие прогнозирование потерь энергии и направленности мощных лазерных пучков на протяженных атмосферных трассах. Разработаны физические основы новых методов диагностики дисперсных сред на основе нелинейно-оптических взаимодействий.
  • Оставаясь актуальным на протяжении многих десятков лет, данное направление переживает новый этап развития благодаря созданию мощных фемтосекундных лазерных систем. С их применением в атмосфере связываются новые перспективы использования оптических технологий в изучении природных явлений.
  • Как правило, нелинейно-оптические эффекты ухудшают условия распространения лазерных пучков в атмосфере и их учет необходим при оценке эффективности передачи лазерной энергии на большие дистанции. При распространении непрерывного лазерного излучения в воздухе пучок испытывает тепловые аберрации, однако в туманах для инфракрасного излучения и длинных импульсов реализуется увеличение прозрачности среды вследствие испарения капель.
  • При распространении в воздухе мощных лазерных импульсов пикосекундной и фемтосекундной длительностей возникает явление филаментации, связанное с самофокусировкой лазерного пучка в нити, образованием плазмы, генерацией широкополосного свечения, так называемого суперконтинуума. Распространение более длинных лазерных импульсов в аэрозольной среде сопровождается оптическим пробоем воздуха вблизи аэрозольных частиц, что ведет к дополнительному ослаблению излучения.
  • Многие нелинейно-оптические эффекты послужили базой для создания новых методов диагностики атмосферы и водной среды. Оптический пробой аэрозольных сред привлек внимание ученых как источник эмиссионного спектра составляющих материала взвешенных частиц. Двухфотонное поглощение в аэрозолях, содержащих органические молекулы, вызывает их флуоресценцию, что служит индикатором этих молекул. Использование широкополосного излучения суперконтинуума позволяет осуществлять диагностику газовых и аэрозольных сред методом многоволнового зондирования.
Фотография взрывного вскипания водной капли радиусом 50 мкм в поле микросекундного импульса СО2-лазера Поперечная структура плотности энергии излучения титан-сапфирового лазера с длиной волны 800 нм, длительностью 60 фс и энергией 10 мДж в конце атмосферной трассы длиной 80 м при филаментации в воздухе

Сотрудники

  1. Апексимов Дмитрий Владимирович, снс, к.ф.-м.н., тел: (3822) 491-532, E-mail: apeximov@iao.ru
  2. Булыгин Андрей Дмитриевич, нс, к.ф.-м.н., тел: (3822) 491-532, E-mail: b.a.d@iao.ru
  3. Гейнц Юрий Эльмарович, гнс, д.ф.-м.н., тел: (3822) 491-532, E-mail: ygeints@iao.ru
  4. Губарев Федор Александрович, мнс, к.ф.-м.н.
  5. Кабанов Андрей Михайлович, гнс, д.ф.-м.н., E-mail: kam@iao.ru
  6. Колыхалова Ольга Эдуардовна, инженер
  7. Коротченко Константин Борисович, снс, к.ф.-м.н.
  8. Кунашенко Юрий Петрович, снс, к.ф.-м.н.
  9. Кучинская Олеся Ивановна, инженер
  10. Лопасов Владимир Павлович, внс, д.ф.-м.н., тел: (3822) 491-716, E-mail: lopas@iao.ru
  11. Минина Ольга Владимировна, инженер, E-mail: mov@iao.ru
  12. Неделькин Николай Викторович, инженер
  13. Панина Екатерина Константиновна, снс, к.ф.-м.н., тел: (3822) 491-597, E-mail: pek@iao.ru
  14. Петров Алексей Вадимович, мнс, E-mail: awp@iao.ru
  15. Погодаев Виталий Алексеевич, гнс, д.ф.-м.н.
  16. Соколова Екатерина Борисовна, нс
  17. Степанов Сергей Александрович, нс
  18. Тарасенкова Анна Владимировна, нс, к.т.н., E-mail: aav@iao.ru
  19. Хорошаева Елена Евгеньевна, нс, к.ф.-м.н., тел: (3822) 491-532, E-mail: bee@iao.ru